

Council Meeting Agenda

15 May 2017





SUMMONS

To All Members of the Council

You are hereby summoned to attend a meeting of the District Council to be held in the Council Chamber, Appletree Court, Lyndhurst on Monday, 15 May 2017, at 6.30 pm

Bob Jackson Chief Executive

Appletree Court, Lyndhurst, Hampshire. SO43 7PA www.newforest.gov.uk

This Agenda is also available on audio tape, in Braille, large print and digital format

AGENDA

The Chairman of the Council (Cllr Beck) in the Chair.

Apologies

1. ELECTION OF CHAIRMAN

To elect a Chairman of the Council to hold office until the annual meeting in 2018. Cllr Mrs C V Ward has been nominated as Chairman for the ensuing year.

Declaration of acceptance of office by the Chairman and investiture of badges of office.

The newly elected Chairman in the Chair.

Vote of thanks to Cllr Beck.

2. APPOINTMENT OF VICE-CHAIRMAN

To appoint a Vice-Chairman of the Council to hold office until the annual meeting in 2018.

Cllr M J Kendal has been nominated as Vice-Chairman for the ensuing year.

3. MINUTES (Pages 1 - 4)

To confirm the minutes of the meeting held on 10 April 2017 as a correct record.

4. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

To note any declarations of interest made by members in connection with an agenda item. The nature of the interest must also be specified.

Members are asked to discuss any possible interests with Democratic Services prior to the meeting.

5. CHAIRMAN'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

6. LEADER'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

7. ALLOCATION OF SEATS TO POLITICAL GROUPS (Pages 5 - 6)

Section 15(1) of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 requires the Council, at its annual meeting or as soon as practicable thereafter, to review the political representation on committees and other groups such as panels to which the principles of proportionate representation, as set out in the Act, apply.

The seats currently allocated to the political groups on Committees and Panels are set out in the attached report. The overall allocation complies with the proportionality requirements.

It is recommended that the Council notes the position.

8. MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES AND PANELS

To consider any changes to the membership of Committees or Panels that might be proposed by the political groups. (Members of Committees and Panels were appointed for a four-year period at the annual meeting of the Council on 18 May 2015).

9. ANY OTHER ITEMS WHICH THE CHAIRMAN DECIDES ARE URGENT

Note:

- The annual meetings of individual Committees and Panels will commence following the conclusion of the annual meeting of the Council.
- The Council photograph will then take place at the conclusion of the annual meetings of Committees and Panels (weather permitting).

This page is intentionally left blank

Agenda Item 3

10 APRIL 2017

NEW FOREST DISTRICT COUNCIL

Minutes of a meeting of the New Forest District Council held in the Council Chamber, Appletree Court, Lyndhurst on Monday, 10 April 2017

> * Cllr G C Beck (Chairman) * Cllr Mrs C V Ward (Vice-Chairman)

Councillors:

Councillors:

- * A R Alvey
- * Mrs D E Andrews
- * W G Andrews P J Armstrong Mrs S V Beeton Ms R Bellows
- * Mrs S M Bennison
- * J E Binns
- * G R Blunden
- * D A Britton
- * Mrs D M Brooks
- * Mrs F Carpenter
- * Mrs L D Cerasoli
- * S J Clarke
- * Mrs J L Cleary
- * I C Coombes Ms K V Crisell
- * S P Davies
- * A H G Davis
- * W H Dow
- * Ms L C Ford
- * R L Frampton
- * A T Glass
- * L E Harris
- * M R Harris
- * D Harrison
- * J D Heron
- E J Heron
- * Mrs A J Hoare

- * Mrs M D Holding
- Mrs P Jackman
- M J Kendal
- Mrs E L Lane
- * Mrs P J Lovelace
- * **B** D Lucas
- * Mrs A E McEvoy
- * A D O'Sullivan
- * J M Olliff-Cooper
- N S Penman
- A K Penson
- * D M S Poole
- * L R Puttock
- B Rickman
- * W S Rippon-Swaine
- * Mrs A M Rostand
- * D J Russell
- * Miss A Sevier M A Steele
- M H Thierry
- * Mrs B J Thorne
- D B Tipp
- D N Tungate
- * A S Wade
- * R A Wappet
- * J G Ward
- M L White
- * C A Wise
 - Mrs P A Wyeth

*Present

Officers Attending:

R Jackson, C Read, Mrs R Rutins and Ms M Stephens

Apologies:

Clirs Armstrong, Mrs Beeton, Ms Bellows, Ms Crisell, E Heron, Steele and Mrs Wyeth.

57 MINUTES

RESOLVED:

That the minutes of the meeting held on 20 February 2017 be signed by the Chairman as a correct record.

58 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were none.

59 CHAIRMAN'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Chairman's engagements since the last meeting of the Council had been published in the Information Bulletin.

He highlighted the following:-

Commonwealth Day

On Monday 13 March 2017, the Chairman, accompanied by the Deputy Chairman, the Leader of the Council and the Chief Executive, had raised the Commonwealth flag at Appletree Court to commemorate Commonwealth Day.

Easter Egg Raffle

Raffle tickets were on sale. The draw would take place on Wednesday 12 April 2017 with proceeds going to the Chairman's two charities.

Former CIIr John Hutchins

Former NFDC Cllr John Hutchins had been awarded the British Empire Medal in the Queen's New Year's Honours List. He would be presented with the medal in Winchester on 5 May and the Chairman would be present.

Energise Me Awards 2017

The Chairman was pleased to announce that the Council had won an award under the 'Active Workplace' category. The Chairman congratulated officers for this achievement.

Presentation of Past Chairman's Badge to Cllr Mrs Hoare

The Chairman presented Cllr Mrs Hoare with her past Chairman's badge.

60 LEADER'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were none.

61 REPORT OF AUDIT COMMITTEE

Cllr O'Sullivan, Chairman of the Audit Committee, presented the report of the meeting held on 27 March 2017.

On the motion that the report be received and the recommendation be adopted, it was

RESOLVED:

That the report be received and the recommendation be adopted.

62 REPORT OF THE CABINET

The Leader of the Council, as Chairman of the Cabinet, presented the report of the meeting held on 5 April 2017.

On the motion that the report be received and the recommendation be adopted, it was:

RESOLVED:

That the report be received and the recommendation be adopted.

63 REPORT OF THE OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY PANELS 2016/17

The Council considered the report of the Overview & Scrutiny Panels for 2016/17.

RESOLVED:

That the report be received and noted.

64 QUESTIONS UNDER STANDING ORDER 22

There were none.

65 QUESTIONS TO PORTFOLIO HOLDERS UNDER STANDING ORDER 22A

There were none.

66 NOMINATIONS FOR THE APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRMAN AND VICE-CHAIRMAN

RESOLVED:

That Cllr Mrs C V Ward be nominated as Chairman and Cllr M J Kendal as Vice-Chairman of the Council for the following municipal year.

67 MEMBERSHIP OF COMMITTEES AND PANELS

Cllr Ms Crisell was appointed to serve on the Planning Development Control Committee to fill the vacancy on the Committee.

CHAIRMAN

Agenda Item 7

COUNCIL - 15 MAY 2017

ALLOCATION OF SEATS TO POLITICAL GROUPS - 2017/18

Political Composition of the Council

	No.	%
Conservative	58	97
Liberal Democrat	2	3
Total	60	100

	Seats	Conservative	Liberal Democrat
Appeals Committee	20	19	1
Audit Committee	8	8	0
Employment Engagement Panel	4	4	0
General Purposes & Licensing Committtee	15	14	1
Planning Development Control Committee	20	19	1
Community Overview & Scrutiny Panel	10	10	0
Corporate Overview & Scrutiny Panel	10	10	0
Environment Overview & Scrutiny Panel	10	10	0
Total	97	94	3

% Seats

97

3

Page 5

This page is intentionally left blank